Optical Communication Systems Laboratory (OCSL)





This page contains contact information for all the members of the Lab. From here you can send e-mail to Lab members, or visit their personal home pages.



Ivan B. Djordjevic, Professor, OCSL Director
PhD Students:


Zhen Qu

Xiaole Sun

John Gariano

Mingwei Yang

Xiao Han

Ziwen Pan

Minor advisor:

Rahul Kumar Bhadani (OPTI minor advisor)

Berk Akgun (ECE minor advisor)

MS Students:

Sai Rakesh Mohan Krishna Vangapandu (OPTI student)
Tyan-Lin Wang (OPTI student)

Visiting Professors:


Visiting Scholars:

Yi Xiang,  Xidian University


Research Professors, Post-doctoral Researchers, and Visiting Professors:

Prof. Tao Liu, North China Electric Power University, Oct. 2015-Oct. 2017

Prof. Jaime Anquita, University of the Andes, Chile, Faculty of Engineering Dean, Jan. 2014, Jan. 2015, Jan. 2016

Murat Arabaci, Juniper Networks 
Jianyong Zhang; Beijing Jiaotong University, China; Nov. 2009-Nov. 2010
Lybomir L Minkov

PhD Students:

Ding Zou, Pure Storage 

Tao Liu, Infinera

Yequn Zhang, ClariPhy 

ChangYu Lin, Infinera

Murat Arabaci, Juniper Networks, University of Arizona

Hussam G. Batshon, Tyco Subcom, Eatontown, NJ

Milos Ivkovic, Cornell University (co-supervised with Dr. Bane Vasic, and Dr. Ildar Gabitov)

Lybomir L. Minkov

Jose Castro Panduit (co-advise with Dr. David Geraghty)

MS Students:

Mickey Rhoades (ECE student)
Aotuo Dong (OPTI student)

Xiao Han, University of Arizona, Tucson

Di Xiao

Hatice Irem Demir, TU Darmstadt, Germany (MS thesis completed during student's visit to Dr. Djordjevic's Lab in 2014)

Alaa Saleh, TU Darmstadt, Germany (MS thesis completed during Dr. Djordjevic's sabbatical in 2013)

Paul Grenz, University of Arizona, Tucson

Tao Liu, University of Arizona, Tucson

Ding Zou, University of Arizona, Tucson

Mahesh Sharma, QUALCOMM, San Diego

Hussam G. Batshon, University of Arizona

Varsha S. Rao, QUALCOMM, San Diego (co-supervised with Dr. Bane Vasic)

Anita Patil, Intel Corporation, Phoenix (co-supervised with Dr. David Geraghty)

MENG Students:

Samita Pokhrel

BS Students:

Brian Suarez (Summer 2012)

Visiting Scholars

Nui Huijuan, North China Electric Power University, October 2015-April 2016

Meng Zhu, Northwestern Polytechnic University, China, January-July 2015

Hatice Irem Demir, TU Darmstadt, Germany, March-September 2014

Mohammadreza Malekizandi, TU Darmstadt, Germany, April-June 2013

Ali Emsia, TU Darmstadt, Germany, April-September 2013

Jiaojiao Fu, Zhejiang University, China; Jan. 2010-Jan. 2011

Xuezhi Hong, Zhejiang University , Hangzhou , China; Jan. 2011-June 2011

Anthony M. Wolfe (Summer 2009)





 Ivan B. Djordjevic 

 Fellow, OSA 

 Senior Member, IEEE



 Position: Professor, ECE & Optical Sciences
 Office Location: ECE 456B
 Office Phone: 626-5119
 E-Mail: ivan@ece.arizona.edu
 Degree information:
Ph.D., University of Nis, Yugoslavia, 1999



Dr. Djordjevic is a tenured Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering of College of Engineering of University of Arizona, with a joint appointment in the College of Optical Sciences. Prior to joining the University of Arizona, he was with University of Bristol and University of the West of England, Bristol, UK; Tyco Telecommunications, Eatontown, USA; National Technical University of Athens, Athens, Greece; and State Telecommunication Company, Nis, Yugoslavia. His current research interests include optical communications/networks, channel coding, coded modulation, turbo equalization, OFDM applications, physical-layer security, quantum key distribution (QKD), quantum information processing, quantum error correction, and quantum biology. He presently directs the Optical Communications Systems Laboratory (OCSL) and Quantum Communications Laboratory (QCL) within the ECE Department at the University of Arizona and co-directs the Signal Processing and Coding Lab (SPACL).

Dr. Djordjevic is an author/co-author of the following books: (i) Advanced Optical and Wireless Communications Systems, Springer International Publishing, Switzerland, Dec. 2017/Jan. 2018;  (ii) Quantum Biological Information Theory, Springer, Oct. 2015; (iii) Advanced Optical Communication Systems and Networks, Artech House, Jan. 2013; (iv) Quantum Information Processing and Quantum Error Correction: An Engineering Approach, Elsevier/Academic Press, Apr. 2012; (v) Coding for Optical Channels, Springer, Mar. 2010; and (vi) OFDM for Optical Communications, Elsevier/Academic Press, Oct. 2009. 
Dr. Djordjevic is also an author/co-author of over 460 journal/conference publications and 43 US patents. 

Dr. Djordjevic serves as an Editor/Associate Editor/Member of Editorial Board for the following journals: IOP Journal of Optics, IEEE Communications Letters, Elsevier Physical Communication (PHYCOM) Journal, and Frequenz. He was serving as a member of editorial board for International Journal of Optics from Aug. 2008 until Aug. 2017.  
Dr. Djordjevic is an OSA Fellow and IEEE Senior Member.

Research Interests:

Coding for Optical Channels

Coded Modulation

Turbo Equalization

OFDM Applications

Quantum Key Distribution (QKD)

Quantum Error Correction

Quantum Information Processing

Quantum Biology

Coding for Wireless Channels

Constrained Coding

Courses Taught:  ECE/OPTI 536A, ECE 435A/535A, ECE 633, ECE 638, ECE 435, ECE 429/529, OPTI/ECE 430/530, ECE/OPTI 632, ECE 340, ECE 535, ECE 537

For the Professor's Personal Homepage Click here.

Back to Top



Xiang Liu, Futurewei Technologies, NJ


Mark A. Neifeld

Department of ECE, University of Arizona


Ting Wang

NEC Labs, Princeton, NJ 


Shaoliang Zhang

NEC Labs, Princeton, NJ 


Dan Kilper

College of Optical Sciences, University of Arizona


Milorad Cvijetic

College of Optical Sciences, University of Arizona

(previously NEC Corporation of America, Herndon, VA)


Hussam G. Batshon

Tyco Subsea Communications, Eatontown, NJ


Stojan Denic

Toshiba Telecommunications Research Laboratory, Bristol, UK


Bane Vasic

Department of ECE, University of Arizona


Jaime Anguita

Universidad de los Andes, Santiago, Chile


Franko Kueppers

TU Darmstadt, Germany

(formerly College of Optical Sciences, University of Arizona)


Ali Akoglu

Department of ECE, University of Arizona


Ali Bilgin

Department of ECE, University of Arizona


Raymond Kostuk

Department of ECE, University of Arizona


Goran T. Djordjevic

University of Nis, Serbia

Yuzuru Takashima

College of Optical Sciences, University of Arizona

Ildar Gabitov

Department of Mathematics, University of Arizona

Sundararajan Sankaranarayanan

Seagate Technology, Pittsburgh  

Milos Ivkovic

Cornell University, Department of Radiology, New York 


Olgica Milenkovic

Department of ECE, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, Illinois


Michael Marcellin

Department of ECE, University of Arizona


 Lei Xu

NEC Labs, Princeton, NJ 


Back to Top


Copyright or other proprietary statement goes here.
For problems or questions regarding this web contact [ivan@ece.arizona.edu].
Last updated: April 17, 2018.

Phone:(520) 626-5119     Fax:(520) 626-3144
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, The University of Arizona
P.O. Box 210104     1230 E. Speedway     Tucson, AZ 85721-0104